Sigh, I need to update this blog more,

June 12, 2013 § Leave a comment

Sigh, I need to update this blog more, or at least soon enough that I stop forgetting whether I’m on WordPress or Blogspot.

So I found a 1930s skirt tutorial online and was all set to work on it when I realised a pattern I already have, McCalls M4924, would make an excellent 1930s skirt. View C is bias-cut, and I’m going to make the godets 45 degrees instead of 90. I’ll see how it turns out.

Image

I also recently scored a sewing book from 1941: “The Complete Book of Sewing.” Thought I’d share this page about yearlong fashion (click for full size):

sewing

 
Here are some patterns that would work for these ideas:

January’s huge boutonniere (I think this pattern comes from around the same time period in fact)

February’s turban

April’s daisies

July’s flower neckline

July type hat

August’s wool crepe dress

November’s sequin collar

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sigh, I need to update this blog more, at endlong and overthwart.

meta